Hello My Hoop Friends. I know it has been a while since I last posted, but I’ve been living life on the manic side. Started a new job annnnnnd, I’ve been practicing for a recital at Kara’s Pole Studio this last Saturday. For the last two weeks, Patrick and I have been racking our brains and bashing my body trying to put my routine together.

Let me just say, ever since I was bitty sized, I have loved the idea of being bathed in stage lights, entertaining the people around me. In my (very vast) imagination, I am transported to a world where I can be or do anything. Reality, of course, is inconsequential. It is the world in my imagination that matters under the lights. 🙂

This is my happy face

So, I performed a routine to INXS’s Never Tear Us Apart. I have always loved the haunting solos and the conviction of the singer’s passion for the lover he sings so intensely to. I completely believe every word he says – I know we have wings and we can fly!

Despite mine, and Patrick’s, best efforts, the performance wasn’t flawless. It’s a slippery slope micro analyzing each mistake what coulda, shoulda, woulda been done with 36 moves during the 3:05 minutes of the song. But at the end of the day — I HAD A BLAST! I flew on my hoop bathed in the lights of my childhood dreams wearing a pretty, sparkly costume. Can a girl really ask for much more? Well, OK, of course I could, but why push the Fates? They can be wretched bitches in their need for payback.

The night was a wonder to behold. I was amazed and in awe of the talents of ALL the performers. Each one had their own distinctive style and put themselves out there for the world to see with such bravery. After all, bravery isn’t not being afraid; bravery is doing what you need to in spite of the fear. Each one faced the fear with glorious smiles and sparkles, pointed toes and an extra dose of FANCY!

Kara's Extra Fancy Students

Adding to the specialness of the night, my husband, mom and stepdad came out and support me and my friends. I am so happy they realize how much joy hoop brings to my world. Like an idiot, I didn’t take any pictures (and my video is glitching like the sequels to the Matrix). Thank goodness my mom was there. She took a couple photos, but they were posed after the show. At least you can get a good look at the costume. My stepdad, Jerry, shot some video. If I can get a hold of it and get it downloaded,  I’ll be sure to share it here.

The black outfit blended a bit too much with the black background, but I couldn't find the light up body suit.

Loved the back of this costume. Looked great when the lights hit it